Art Events for Sustainable September 2011

It’s been a wonderful Eastern Washington summer of boating on the lake and wearing no socks. I took a few months off from this blog, but I am now energized and back in the right frame of mind to continue blogging. I expect to make some cosmetic changes to the site as well, so don’t be surprised if it looks different soon…

September has already arrived, and I’m looking forward to Fall arts and harvest time! You probably came here to ready about art events, so here it is: Sustainable September returns to Eastern Washington with food events, presentations, contests and a LEED certified kickoff luncheon.

Sustainable September 2011 arts and entertainment highlights include: 

MAIN STREET FAIR: The fifth annual Sustainable Uprising celebrates sustainability and community. Vendors, music and fun for all. More info here.

  • Noon, September 10, 2011. Main Ave between Brown and Division
  • Sustainable Uprising, hosted by the YSC. 8pm-Midnight, September 10. This youth oriented festival includes a local fashion show and live performance. I recommend  the Facebook event page for more info.

CONTEST: “Trash to Treasure, My Home, Tomorrow” is a recycled art contest hosted by REI.

  • Prizes awarded for best work of art made of recycled materials.
  • More info and submission guidelines here.
FILM: the Garland Theatre presents two sustainability related films this month. See the Facebook event for more details.
  • September 14th, FREE shorts Night: IMAX Beavers, The Man Who Planted Trees, The Story of Stuff, The Lorax, & Beaver Creek locally produced shorts.
  • September 21st ($5) : Unnatural Causes:Bad Sugar & Red Gold
  • September 28th ($5) : Coal Country & The Story of Cap and Trade
Please contact me or leave a comment if you have more information about other environmentally friendly art and entertainment events happening this September. I’d love to know more! This post will be updated as I hear about other related events. 

 

2 thoughts on “Art Events for Sustainable September 2011

  1. There are some fascinating deadlines on this article however I don’t know if I see all of them heart to heart. There’s some validity but I will take hold opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want more! Added to FeedBurner as nicely

    1. I think you are saying that you are unsatisfied with these events, and I would be in the same boat with you. While this is nice start, Spokane artists could have participated in Sustainable September a lot more! Maybe there were more events going on, but I didn’t hear about them.

Leave a Reply

